MLW Introducing New National Openweight Championship

Photo: MLW

The Orlando, Florida-based promotion Major League Wrestling (MLW) announced today that they would be introducing a brand new championship known as the MLW National Openweight Championship.

Over the next few weeks, four MLW grapplers will compete to crown the inaugural champion (the competitors involved will be unveiled later this month), with the action kicking off in May and culminating on Saturday, June 1st in Waukesha, Wisconsin at the company’s Fury Road 2019 event. The contests leading up to the finals will take place on MLW’s weekly television show Fusion.

With it being an openweight title, it allows competition from MLW’s middleweight, heavyweight, and super heavyweight divisions, likely providing some previously impossible matches. In a press release, MLW Chief Executive Officer and founder Court Bauer stated that “the new championship means bigger fights with greater regularity”.

Once the new championship is officially up for grabs, it will become the fourth active title within Major League Wrestling. It will join the World Championship (currently held by Tom Lawlor), the Middleweight Championship (currently held by Teddy Hart), and the Tag Team Championships (currently held by The Hart Foundation pairing of Teddy Hart and Davey Boy Smith Jr.).

Stay tuned to the Last Word on Pro Wrestling for more on this and other stories from around the world of wrestling, as they develop. You can always count on LWOPW to be on top of the major news in the wrestling world, as well as to provide you with analysis, previews, videos, interviews, and editorials on the wrestling world.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.