Jazz Announced to Defend NWA Women’s Title at NWA 70 (VIDEO)

Photo: NWA

As the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) gets prepared to host its first official PPV under the ownership of Billy Corgan, the card started to take considerable shape after only knowing match previously heading into the NWA 70th Anniversary PPV in Nashville on October 21, 2018. At All In, Cody Rhodes defeated Nick Aldis to become the 94th man to hold the NWA World Heavyweight Championship (his father Dusty won it three times, in 1979, 1981 and lastly in 1986), with the rematch happening at the PPV. But while the “ten pounds of gold” got pushed heavily in the past year, the NWA’s other titles were put on hold. Today the NWA officially announced that the NWA Women’s Championship, previously held by former WWE Women’s Champion Jazz prior to Corgan’s purchase of the brand, would be defended at the event, and that Jazz would continue as the women’s champion. Jazz’ first challenger under the new NWA banner has yet to be announced.

The former ECW and WWE Superstar and 2x WWE Women’s Champion last appeared for the WWE in 2006, but she hasn’t slowed down any. She became part of Women’s Superstars Uncensored (WSU) in 2009, where she won WSU Tag Team gold with Marti Belle. In 2012, she debuted with Shine, and has continued to wrestle for many other indie promotions around the country – in 2016, she paired with former WWE Women’s Champions Mickie James and Victoria in the Original Divas Trio for CHIKARA‘s King of Trios.

Photo: WWE

Apart from the reactivating the NWA Women’s Championship, they also announced they were bringing back the NWA National Heavyweight Championship. Originally the top title with Georgia Championship Wrestling (GCW) in the early 1980s, it was held by the likes of Dusty Rhodes, Ted DiBiase, Paul Orndorff, Tommy Rich and Tully Blanchard. When GCW was purchased by the WWF in 1984, it was maintained by the NWA until 1986, when it was retired. In the late 1990s, it was resurrected in the indie promotions that continued to work under the NWA banner, with names like Doug Gilbert, Stevie Richards, Pepper Parks (aka Braxton Sutter from IMPACT), and Jax Dane holding it. When it was put on hold after Corgan’s purchase, the last champ was Brew City Wrestling (BCW)‘s Kahagas. NWA has announced that the title has been vacated and an 8-man tournament will be held at NWA 70th to crown the new NWA National Champion, which will presumably act as the NWA’s secondary male title. So far, entrants for the tournament include Colt Cabana, Willie Mack, Parrow, Scorpio Sky and others.

Billy Corgan has also promised to be bringing back the NWA World Tag Team Championship as well, last held by The Heatseekers (Elliott Russell & Matt Sigmon), who wrestle in the Southern territories, like America’s Most Liked (AML) Wrestling, Innovate Pro Wrestling (IPW), and North Carolina Wrestling Association (NCWA). There’s been no word if The Heatseekers will continue like Jazz did, or if they will be stripped like Kahagas.

Interesting, one former NWA Champion (or rather, an NWA Champion at the time of Corgan’s purchase) that appears to be keeping his title is the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Champion, 24-year old Barrett Brown. Brown has been actively promoting the NWA event for the past few weeks, including posting photos of himself with his NWA title. An 8-year veteran of the Southern indies, he’s a regular with Metroplex Wrestling (MPX) in Bedford, Texas, whose also worked with Anarchy Championship Wrestling (ACW), EVOLVE, WrestleCircus and Full Impact Pro (FIP). A few weeks back, Brown appeared on WWE RAW, tagging with Gregory James as the poor destroyed pair who faced Authors of Pain. While no official announcement has been made, if Brown is in fact still the NWA Junior Heavyweight Champion, he too could see action on the PPV.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.